Events

Click here to see the Natural Heritage Education program schedule for this week!

PLEASE NOTE: The Silver Queen Mine is only open during scheduled guided hikes and open house events. In 2015, the mine will be open during Open House events on Sundays from July 5 to Sept. 6, from 10 a.m. to noon. This includes self-guided tours of the mine, ore wagon and bunkhouse. Costumed interpreters will be on hand at open houses. After Sept. 7, please consult the Fall Schedule. Call the park directly for more info at 613-267-5060. Please note: The mine is not wheelchair accessible. Dogs are not permitted in the mine or bunkhouse.

mine-programs

UPCOMING 2015 FRIENDS EVENTS:

Sunday, April 26, 1 to 3 p.m. – Friends of Murphys Point Park AGM at McMartin House, 125 Gore St. E. Perth. Celebrate our 20th anniversary! Slide show looking back on Friends’ accomplishments.

Sunday, May 17, – Annual Murphys Point Bird Count at the Park. Bird count at 5:30 a.m. (Lally Homestead); Interpretive hike 8 a.m. (main beach), fundraising pancake breakfast 9 a.m. (main beach)

Wednesday, July 1, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. – Canada Day Celebrations – BBQ, Cake on the main beach. (Heritage Mica Days event)

Friday, July 3, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, July 5, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, July 8, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, July 10, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, July 12, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House with Junior Mica Miner Program and Tickle Trunk. (Heritage Mica Days event)

Wednesday, July 15, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, July 17 – FREE DAY USE AT ONTARIO PARKS – Stay tuned for details

Friday, July 17, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, July 19, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, July 22, 7 p.m. and 9 p.m.– Theatre Through Time at the Silver Queen Mine. Contact park for ticket information.

Friday, July 24, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, July 26, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, July 29, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, July 31, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, Aug. 2, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Monday, Aug. 3, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. – Beach Day – BBQ, sandcastles, story reading (a Heritage Mica Days event)

Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, Aug. 7, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, Aug. 9, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, Aug. 12, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, Aug. 14, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Saturday, Aug. 15, 6 p.m. – Hot Dog Roast at the Campfire Pit. (Heritage Mica Days event)

Sunday, Aug. 16, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, Aug. 19, 7 p.m. and 9 p.m.– Theatre Through Time at the Silver Queen Mine. Contact park for ticket information.

Friday, Aug. 21, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, Aug. 23, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, Aug. 26, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, Aug. 28, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, Aug. 30, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Wednesday, Sept. 2, 2 p.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Friday, Sept. 4, 10 a.m. – Silver Queen Mine Guided Tour  (please pre-register).

Sunday, Sept. 6, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House with Junior Mica Miner Program and Tickle Trunk. (Heritage Mica Days event)