Events

Click here for the current Natural Heritage Education program schedule!

Please Note: The entrance into the Silver Queen Mine main pit and restored miner’s bunkhouse is only available during scheduled tours and open houses. Visitors are able to walk the trail at any time and purchase a $1 trail guide that corresponds to numbered posts along the trail. Visitors require a camping permit or a day-use permit displayed on their dashboard ($14.50/$11.50/$7.25 Regular/Seniors/Disabled).  Please note: The mine is not wheelchair accessible. Dogs are not permitted in the mine or bunkhouse.

 Silver Queen Mine Tours: Offered twice/week in July and August. Call the park at 613-267-5060 for specific dates/times. Please pre-register at the registration gatehouse or call ahead for this 1-1.5 hour guided hike down the trail and into an early 1900s mica mine.

 Silver Queen Mine Open Houses: Sunday mornings, 10 a.m. – Noon from July 3 to September 4. Hardhats supplied for this 1 km walk along the trail and into the restored Silver Queen Mine and miner’s bunkhouse. Venture back in time to the early 1900s when the small-scale mica mining business was booming in eastern Ontario. Meet historical interpreters along the trail.

Events:

Canada Day (July 1, 2016): Try walking the rope bridge by the beach, beginning at 10 a.m. until noon. Other activities, fundraising barbecue with free cake to follow! Sponsored by the Friends of Murphys Point Park. FRESHWATER TRADE, 8 p.m.: A singing and fiddling musical show full of original and traditional tunes about the Ottawa Valley & the Great Lakes region. Fun for the whole family! Sponsored by the Friends of Murphys Point Park.

Sunday, July 3, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, July 10, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, July 17, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, July 24, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Saturday, July 30: Live Raptors with Wild Ontario – Come and meet some amazing captive Raptors! Find out their stories and learn about the different species. Don’t forget to have your photo taken with your favourite bird. Show time is 7 p.m. No dogs are permitted at this show unless it’s a service dog.

 

Sunday, July 31, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, Aug. 7, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, Aug. 14, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, Aug. 21, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

 

Sunday, Aug. 28, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Sunday, Sept. 4, 10 a.m. to 12 noon – Silver Queen Open House.

Sunday, Sept. 11, 10 a.m. – Guided hike to the Silver Queen Mine.

Sunday, Sept. 18, 10 a.m. – Guided hike to the Silver Queen Mine.

Sunday, Sept. 25, 10 a.m. – Guided hike to the Silver Queen Mine.

Sunday, Oct. 2, 10 a.m. – Guided hike to the Silver Queen Mine.

Saturday, Oct. 15 – Second Annual Murphys Mica Fun Run. Stay tuned for details!